Chennai Super Kings made a fairytale come back in the the IPL as they defeated the Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets. Shane Watson became the ‘Man of the Match’ for his scintillating knock of 117* runs as he helped his team win the trophy. It was also his second 100 in this season and its value doubled as it came in the night of the final.

MS Dhoni won the toss and CSK decided to bowl first. They made just an expected change as Karn Sharma played in place of Harbhajan Singh. While SRH made two changes as Wriddhiman Saha and Khaleel Ahmed were replaced by Shreevats Goswami and Sandeep Sharma.

SRH commenced their innings slowly as they were just 30/1 after five overs. After a 50 run partnership, Shikhar Dhawan got out for 26 runs while Williamson played yet another good knock of 47 runs. Shakib Al Hasan (27) also supported him well but the most vital innings was played by Yusuf Pathan (45* runs off just 22 balls). Carlos Brathwaite also played small cameo of 21 from 11 as SRH posted a huge total of 178/6 runs on the board.

Lungi Ngidi was the pick of the bowlers for CSK with his match figures of 4-1-26-1. All the bowlers picked up at least one wicket except Deepak Chahar but he also bowled economically well (4-0-25-1).

CSK started their batting even worse as they not only lost the wicket of Faf du Plessis early in the innings but their run rate was also at just four runs per over after five overs. But after that, Shane Watson and Suresh Raina built the innings exceptionally well as they indulged in a partnership of 117 runs. In this the major charge was done by the former while the latter lost his wicket for 32 runs.

Shane Watson went on to score a magnificent century and became the first ever batsman to score a hundred while chasing in an IPL final. Ambati Rayudu also stayed till the end with Watson to hit the winning runs.