Kolkata Knight Riders defeated the Sunrisers Hyderabad by 5 wickets to qualify for the playoffs. Chris Lynn won the ‘Man of the Match’ for his knock of 55 runs from 43 balls.

Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and opted to bat first. They made three changes in their playing XI as Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Carlos Brathwaite and Yusuf Pathan played in place of Basil Thampi, Alex Hales and Deepak Hooda. While KKR made just a single change as Piyush Chawla played instead of Shivam Mavi.

SRH began their batting well as both the openers, Dhawan and Goswami gave good starts. They were 127-2 at one stage, with Dhawan and Pandey batting well at the crease but then their batting collapsed and they ended up scoring just 172-9 at the end of their 20 overs.

Young Prasidh Krishna was the pick of the bowlers for KKR with his match figures of 4-0-30-4. Sunil Narine (1/23) also bowled economically well and also took the important wicket of Yusuf Pathan.

Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine started the chase well for Kolkata Knight Riders but lost their first wicket in the 4th over in the form of Sunil Narine (29) but they had posted 52 on the board till that time. Uthappa joined Lynn after that and played a sensible knock of 45 runs. Dinesh Karthik (26*) played till the end to ensure Kolkata a win and a place in the playoffs.

This is the third consecutive loss for SRH and that too towards the end of the tournament. Even though they have qualified for the playoffs but entering that stage on the bank of this performance will not help them. They will still get two chances of making it to the finals and they would look to make the most of it.