Kings XI Punjab thrashed the Kolkata Knight Riders by 9 wickets (DLS Method) as both Punjab’s openers, KL Rahul and Chris Gayle played magnificent innings for help them to achieve so. The former won the ‘Man of the Match’ Award for scoring 60(27).

The match after Kings XI Punjab won the toss and chose to bowl first. Punjab made just one change as they played Ankit Rajpoot in place of Mohit Sharma while KKR played with an unchanged squad.

Lynn and Uthappa batted well for KKR after Narine fall cheaply for 1(4). Chris Lynn’s knock of 74(41) will be a major positive for Kolkata as he had been struggling this year. Uthappa’s 34 and Karthik’s 43 helped KKR to post a good total of 191/7 at the end of the 20 overs.

Andrew Tye (4-0-30-2) was the most successful bowler for Punjab who was well supported by spinners Ashwin (4-0-33-1) and Mujeeb ur Rahman (4-0-32-1).

Punjab’s openers Rahul and Gayle always made the target seem too small as they both the innings of 46(23) and 49(27) till the rain started to pour in the ninth over. After some time, the match started again and the equation was brought down to 29 runs needed off 28 balls which became a 13-over game with a target of 125.

Rahul got out for 60(27) while Gayle played a not out inning of 62(38) as Punjab reached the target at 11.1 overs. For KKR, Narine was the only wicket taker while rest everyone was expensive too which made KXIP chase the target easily.