Kolkata Knight Riders defeated the Rajasthan Royals by 6 wickets to move a step further fir qualifying for the playoffs as they reached to 14 points in the Points Table. Rajasthan Royals still have a chance of qualifying but it would be really difficult seeing to the current scenarios.

The match started after Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and opted to field first. They made just an obvious change in their playing XI as Shivam Mavi came back in place of Piyush Chawla. On the other hand, Rajasthan Royals made three changes as Ish Sodhi, Anureet Singh and Rahul Tripathi played instead of D’Arcy Short, Dhawal Kulkarni and Shreyas Gopal.

Rajasthan began well with the bat as they reached to 50 runs on the at just 3.2 overs where Butler smashed 28 runs in a single over off Shivam Mavi. But once they lost their first wicket for 63 in the fifth over, then their batting collapsed like ninepins as they were reduced to 107/7. With some late gritty hittings from Jaydev Unadkat (26), RR was able to post a fighting total of 142-10 at the end of their 20 overs.

Kuldeep Yadav bowled a magnificent spell of 4-0-20-4 for which he later won the ‘Man of the Match’. In those four wickets, scalps of dangerous Jos Butler, Ajinkya Rahane and Ben Stokes were also included. It was a great come back from him after some poor performance in the last four matches. Russell (3-0-13-2) also bowled well and rest other three bowlers also ticked the wickets column.

Sunil Narine began with a blissful start for kkr with the bat as he scored 21 runs in the first over off Krishnappa Gowtham but got out on the very next ball in the first over of Ben Stokes. He took another wicket in his second over in the form of Robin Uthappa. After them, Chris Lynn played sensible knock of 45 where he got support from Nitish Rana who scored 21.

Ben Stokes brilliantly as he ended with a match figures of 4-1-15-3 which was his best performance so far in this year’s IPL. But KKR skipper Dinesh Karthik(41*) played till the end along with Russell (11*) to help their team win the match.