Kane Williamson of New Zealand has been appointed as the captain of the SunRisers Hyderabad team for the IPL 2018. Williamson has replaced David Warner of Australia. Due to the ball-tampering controversy, Warner had resigned from the captaincy of SunRisers Hyderabad.

Later, Cricket Australia (CA) banned Warner and Steve Smith for a one-year on tampering controversy. The BCCI has excluded both of these players from the IPL-2018. Smith was part of Rajasthan Royals team in IPL.

In a tweet issued by SunRisers Hyderabad, “We are happy to announce Kane Williamson as the captain of SunRisers Hyderabad for IPL 2018” – CEO K Shanmugam. In acceptance, Kane Williamson said: “I’ve accepted the role to stand in as captain for this season. It’s an exciting opportunity with a talented group of players. I look forward to the challenges ahead.”

Kane Williamson, the new Captain of SunRisers Hyderabad

Team India batsman Shikhar Dhawan was also believed to be appointed as captain for SunRisers Hyderabad, but the franchise preferred Williamson for it. Before Warner, Steve Smith also left the Rajasthan Royals captaincy due to the ball-tampering controversy. Instead of Smith, Indian batsman Ajinkya Rahane has been appointed as the captain of the Rajasthan Royals team. The IPL has to be played from April 7.