The world’s most prestigious award ‘The Goldman Environmental Prize 2018′, for remarkable contribution in the field of environmental conservation has been announced to seven winners this year. But the most important thing is that six out of seven winners are the woman. This also shows that women are playing a significant role in defending our planet.

The ceremony of the prize distribution held at the San Francisco War Memorial Opera House followed by a programme in Washington D.C., two days later. More than 3,000 people attended the ceremony, a short documentary film has been shown there to provide an introduction to the Prize recipients and their accomplishments.

The winners of 2018 are; LeeAnne Walters from the United States; Claire Nouvian from France; Khanh Nguy Thi from Vietnam; Makoma Lekalakala and Liz McDaid from South Africa; Francia Márquez from Colombia; and Manny Calonzo from the Philippines.

Every year this prestigious prize is given to the grassroots environmental heroes from Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, South America, Australia, and Island nations.
LeeAnne Walters has been awarded for citizens’ led movement that tested the tap water in Flint, Michigan, and exposed the Flint water crisis. Her continuous engagement forced the federal government to take strict action and ensure the people of clean and safe water.

Francia Márquez organized the women of La Toma and closed the illegal gold mining on their ancestral land.

Liz McDaid and Makoma Lekalakala made a great coalition to stop the South African government’s massive nuclear deal with Russia. They worked very hard to protect South Africa from a rapid expansion of the nuclear industry in the country and production of radioactive waste.

Liz McDaid organized many campaigns and persuade the Philippine government to execute a national ban on the use, sale, and production of lead paint.

Khanh Nguy Thi engaged with the Vietnamese government to minimize the dependency on coal power and move toward an alternative source of energy for the green and safe environment.

These prize winners focused their attention on conserving environment and ecosystem and strived for the environmental justice.