Kolkata Knight Riders defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 6 wickets in the 29th match of IPL 2018 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. Chris Lynn won the ‘Man of the Match’ award for his sensible knock of 62* off 42 balls.

The match started after KKR won the toss and opted to field first, without making any change to their playing XI. RCB on the other hand made as many as four changes; played Brendon McCullum, Manan Vohra, Tim Southee and Murugan Ashwin instead of AB de Villiers, Pawan Negi, Corey Anderson and Washington Sundar.

RCB started steadily with the bat as they reached 40/0 at the end of the powerplay. But in the ninth over, de Kock got out to Kuldeep Yadav for 27. In the next over, :birthday boy’ Andre Russell took wickets in the form of McCullum (38) and Vohra (0). After that Virat Kohli took the major charge with his knock of 68(44) to help RCB post 175-4 on the board.

Despite being on the expensive side, Andre Russell was the pick of the bowlers with his figures of 3-0-31-3 while Kuldeep Yadav (4-0-20-1) was the only other successful bowler for KKR.

Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine started well for KKR as they scored the first ever 50-run partnership for their team in this season. The latter soon got out for 27 but was joined by Robin Uthappa who also played a matured knock of 36(21). After Nitish Rana got retired hurt for 15 and Russell got out on the first ball he faced, RCB came back in the match.

But KKR skipper had other plans who played a bewildered innings of 23 runs off just 10 balls before he got out off a mind blowing catch by Virat Kohli. But nothing much was left in the game till that as Shubman Gill joined then to finish the game.

M Ashwin (4-0-36-2) and Mohammed Siraj (4-0-40-2) were the only successful bowlers for RCB but the amount of runs they and other bowlers conceded was too much to help RCB win.