Mumbai Indians easily defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 46 runs to register their first victory of this year’s IPL. MI captain Rohit Sharma won the ‘Man of the Match’ for his magnificent knock of 94 runs off just 53 balls.

The match started after the visitors (RCB) won the toss and elected to field first. MI just made a single change in their playing XI by replacing Akila Dananjaya with Mitchell McClenaghan. While on the other hand, RCB made as many as three changes as Siraj, Anderson and Sarfaraz came in for McCullum, Negi and Khejroliya.

RCB started exceptionally well as Umesh Yadav open the bowling and took t tohe wickets of Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan off the first two balls of the match. But Evin Lewis on the other hand counterattacked the bowlers with his inning of 65 (42). He was later joined by Rohit Sharma as they skipper scored 94 runs with the help of cameos from the Pandya brothers at the other end to finish the innings total at 213/6.

Umesh Yadav and Corey Anderson were among the pick of the bowlers as they took two wickets each. Apart from them, Woakes also picked a wicket.

RCB also started well with Quinton de Kock and Virat Kohli but soon de Kock departed for 19 who was followed by AB de Villiers as he got out for 1. No other batsman was able to score big runs to support Virat Kohli at the end as the captain was their lone warrior who scored 92* off 62 deliveries. After this inning, Virat Kohli also surpassed Suresh Raina to become the leading run scorer in IPL history.

Jasprit Bumrah and Krunal Pandya were the top bowlers for MI with their bowling figures of 4-0-28-2 and 4-28-0-3 respectively. Apart from Mustafizur Rahman (4-0-55-0), all other bowlers were on the economical end.